Manchester United Under-20 World Cup Preview

Alex Livesey

Five young Reds will be involved in the Under-20 World Cup in Turkey.

Another international tournament is now underway and more Manchester United players will soon be involved in summer football. This time it's the Under-20 World Cup in Turkey and five young Reds begin play on Sunday.

For England, United will be represented by goalkeeper Sam Johnstone (who is anticipated to be the No.1), central-defender Tom Thorpe (the United U-21 captain from last season's title-winners), and Larnell Cole (an attacker with pace who has already made his first-team debut). For Chile, striker Angelo Henriquez -- who scored his first Premier League goal while on loan to Wigan Athletic this past season -- is expected to be one of the tournament's more intriguing players. And for Uruguay, summer-signing Guillermo Varela is anticipated to be the first-choice right-back and this is likely to be the first chance for many United supporters to see the speedy defender in action. Here's a listing of their group stage fixtures:

Sam Johnstone, Tom Thorpe, & Larnell Cole (England)

* England vs Iraq | Sunday, June 23 | 7:00pm BST, 2:00pm EST

* Chile vs England | Wednesday, June 26 | 4:00pm BST, 11:00am EST

* Egypt vs England | Saturday, June 29 | 4:00pm BST, 11:00am EST

Angelo Henriquez (Chile)

* Chile vs Egypt | Sunday, June 23 | 4:00pm BST, 11:00am EST

* Chile vs England | Wednesday, June 26 | 4:00pm BST, 11:00am EST

* Iraq vs Chile | Saturday, June 29 | 7:00pm BST, 2:00pm EST

Guillermo Varela (Uruguay)

* Uruguay vs Croatia | Sunday, June 23 | 6:00pm BST, 1:00pm EST

* New Zealand vs Uruguay | Wednesday, June 26 | 7:00pm BST, 2:00pm EST

* Uzbekistan vs Uruguay | Saturday, June 29 | 4:00pm BST, 11:00am EST

------

Which youngster do you look most forward to seeing? Are there other players that you're excited to see -- perhaps because you want United to take a longer look at them? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section below.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Busby Babe

You must be a member of The Busby Babe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Busby Babe. You should read them.

Join The Busby Babe

You must be a member of The Busby Babe to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Busby Babe. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker