clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wayne Rooney selected for PFA Team of the Year

Getty Images

I find it odd that awards are given out prior to the season's end because so much has yet to be decided. For example, this upcoming week's Manchester derby is a possible title decider while the race for fourth -- the final UEFA Champions League qualification spot -- is still up for grabs. As expected, Arsenal's Robin van Persie was selected as the PFA Player of the Year. However, what if Wayne Rooney were to hit for a hat-trick in the possible title-decider and then follow that up by bagging a few more goals during the season's final two games? With van Persie's slight dip in form as of late, couldn't you then argue that Rooney deserves the award instead in this hypothetical situation? Anyway, that's just my rant because I find it quite silly that season awards are given out prior to the season actually ending.

Rooney is the lone representative for Manchester United on this season's PFA Team of the Year. Four Manchester City players were chosen for the team as were three Tottenham Hostpur players. Along with United, Newcastle and Everton also had a sole representative. Kyle Walker has been selected as the Young Player of the Year.

PFA Team of the Year: Joe Hart (Manchester City); Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle United), Leighton Baines (Everton); David Silva (Manchester City), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Scott Parker (Tottenham Hotspur), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur); Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

PFA Player of the Year: Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

PFA Young Player of the Year: Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)