clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester United announce squad for United States tour

United have announced the players that will travel to the United States for their pre-season tour.

Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

Manchester United have made their third big announcement of the day, with the news of their squad for the upcoming tour of the United States following hot on the heels of official confirmation of the signings of Bastian Schweinsteiger and Morgan Schneiderlin.

Both of the new midfielders are included, as are the first two summer arrivals, Memphis Depay and Matteo Darmian. Midfielder Sean Goss and goalkeeper Sam Johnstone are included from the reserves, while Andreas Pereira will hopefully be given a chance to shine stateside. David De Gea, in spite of what still looks like an imminent exit, will travel.

Marcos Rojo and Ángel Di María are both omitted, though that doesn't come as a surprise after their run to the Copa América final. Rather more telling are the exclusions of Rafael da Silva and Victor Valdés, who look likely to be following Robin van Persie to Turkey.

United provisionally have four Tour fixtures on the schedule, with the first coming against Club América on July 18. Games against San José Earthquakes, Barcelona and PSG follow.