clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester United vs Newcastle United streaming: How to watch Premier League online, TV, team news

How to watch Manchester United vs Newcastle United in the Champions League online and on TV, with a team news and a match preview.

Julian Finney/Getty Images

Chelsea new boy Pedro does not make his Manchester United debut against Newcastle because Ed Woodward is a rube.

Bastian Schweinsteiger may replace Michael Carrick from the start of the game, having replaced him for increasing periods of each of the last three games, including a full half against Club Brugge. Morgan Schneiderlin would be expected to play alongside whichever of the two senior midfielders are picked.

After an acceptable attacking display against Brugge, Adnan Januzaj and Juan Mata could start again behind Wayne Rooney, with Memphis Depay almost certain to play after an excellent performance in the Champions League qualifier. Javier Hernandez would be the best option as a striker, but Rooney has captain's privileges to cancel out his abominable form.

Newcastle got ripped apart from Jefferson Montero of Swansea last weekend, and Depay can offer a similar threat from the left wing. Manchester United should be optimistic that they can take advantage of their opponent's defensive weakness. Newcastle are still struggling to adjust to the new players in their squad, and their new manager, Manchester United's former assistant, Steve McClaren.Date: Saturday, 22 August

What time: 12.45 p.m. BST/7.45 a.m. ET

Where: Old Trafford, Manchester

How to watch on TV: BT Sport 1 (UK) and NBCSN (US)

How to watch online: BT Sport Website (UK) and NBC Sports Live Extra (US)


United: Sergio Romero, Luke Shaw, Daley Blind, Chris Smalling, Matteo Darmian, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Morgan Schneiderlin, Memphis Depay, Adnan Januzaj, Juan Mata, Wayne Rooney

Subs: Sam Johnstone, Paddy McNair, Antonio Valencia, Michael Carrick, Ander Herrera, Ashley Young, Javier Hernandez

Newcastle: Krul, Haidara, Coloccini, Taylor, Mbemba, Anita, Colback, Perez, Wijnaldum, Obertan, Mitrovic

Subs: Darlow, Williamson, Tiote, De Jong, Aarons, Thauvin, Cisse