clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How to watch Euro 2016, Day Nine: Time, TV schedule and streaming options

New, comment

THE FELLAINI IS BACK!

Julian Finney/Getty Images

On paper, the day's Euro 2016 action doesn't look particularly exciting. However, when taken in context, it promises to serve up three particularly interesting encounters. In the first match, Belgium will look to bounce back from their disappointing tournament-opening defeat to Italy with a win over the Republic of Ireland (2 p.m. BST, 9 a.m. ET). However, Martin O'Neill certainly knows how to organise a defence, and their draw with Sweden in the first match suggests they could give Marc Wilmots' side a game.

In the day's second match, two of the tournament's minnows face off as Iceland go head-to-head with Hungary (5 p.m. BST, 12 p.m. ET). Major tournament debutants Iceland salvaged a late point against Portugal in their tournament opener, though offered little in attack for the duration of the game. Hungary, who pulled off a big surprise in comprehensively defeating Austria, will head into this one fancying their chances of booking their place in the knockout stages.

The final game of the three sees Portugal take on Austria, with both sides out for revenge after opening game disappointment (8 p.m. BST, 3 p.m. ET). There's much on the line for Austria in particular, who know a defeat to Cristiano Ronaldo F.C. would likely see them eliminated at the first hurdle after losing to Hungary on the opening matchday. For one of the tournament's supposed dark horses, that would be especially disappointing.

Are there any United players in action?

Just the one, and unfortunately that one is Marouane Fellaini (Belgium).

For a full list of United players at the Euros, click here.

What about potential transfer targets?

Pretty much the entire Portugal team, but in particular, André Gomes and João Mario. Apparently.

For a full list of players United may be scouting at the Euros, check out this.

How can I catch the action?

For those in the UK, the first match of the day is on ITV, with the subsequent two over on Auntie Beeb. For those in the States, you can, as ever, veg out in front of ESPN all day. All of these options come with their respective online services. For all other locations check out this handy page from Live Soccer TV.