clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How to watch Euro 2016, Day 14: Time, TV schedule and streaming options

It's knockout stage o'clock!

Alex Livesey/Getty Images

If it wasn't already, Euro 2016 gets very serious on Saturday. It returns after a couple of days away with the opening three knockout stage encounters, meaning three teams -- and some very good footballers -- will be on their way home. The action starts with an intriguing encounter between two evenly-matched teams in Switzerland and Poland (2 p.m. BST, 9 a.m. ET). The latter have been the more impressive so far, but the Swiss shouldn't be discounted: they have more than enough talent to pose the Poles some serious problems.

Once that's out of the way, the three British nations left in the tournament will be whittled down to two, as Wales take on Northern Ireland (5 p.m. BST, 12 p.m. ET). Chris Coleman's side are certainly the favourites for this encounter, with their excellent defensive organisation and deadly counter-attacking Ramsey-Bale tandem having seen them score big wins over Slovakia and Russia in the group stages. Northern Ireland, meanwhile, failed to seriously impress, and need to pull off a shock if they're to record victory.

The day's action reaches a climax with what is undoubtedly the biggest fixture of all, as Croatia take on Portugal (8 p.m. BST, 3 p.m. ET). Whatever happens, the tournament will lose one of its very best players, with Luka Modrić and Cristiano Ronaldo having been relied on heavily by their respective sides through the group stages. Croatia, however, look the scarier unit, and head into their match as favourites.

Are there any United players in action?

Yep, but only one: Paddy McNair (Northern Ireland).

For a full list of United players at the Euros, click here.

What about potential transfer targets?

Breel Embolo (Switzerland) has been linked with United over the last few weeks, as has João Mario and André Gomes (Portugal).

For a full list of players United may be scouting at the Euros, check out this.

How can I catch the action?

For those in the UK, the two early games are on the BBC, and the later one over on ITV. For those in the States, you can, as ever, veg out in front of ESPN all day. All of these options come with their respective online services. For all other locations check out this handy page from Live Soccer TV.