clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester United's 2017/18 Premier League fixtures

New, comments

We think Jose Mourinho will be quite a happy man, assuming he knows how to feel happiness any more.

Manchester United v Crystal Palace - Premier League Photo by Dave Thompson/Getty Images

Before we begin, the usual caveats. All league fixture dates are subject to change dependent on various factors, including but not limited to: progress in cup competitions; the whims of Sky Sports; volcanoes; failed security tests; the position of the moon relative to the seventh house; the weather.

Right! Manchester United's league fixtures for next season have been announced and if you see Jose Mourinho's face painted with an uncharacteristic smile, you'll know why. United have been gifted the ideal triple: a relatively easy start; mostly home games following the early European excursions; and a relatively easy run-in.

United begin the season at home to West Ham United, then go away to Swansea City, face Leicester City at home, then visit Stoke City. Everton at home in mid-September will be an early test, but the first Super Sky Sports Splurge game doesn't come until October 14, when United go to Anfield. None of those games will be easy. But that could have been worse.

The six games due to come after United's Champions League group games are: Everton at home; Crystal Palace at home; Huddersfield Town away; Chelsea away (!); Brighton & Hove Albion at home; Manchester City at home (!!!).

As for that run-in, it goes up and down and up and down. United's last six games — subject to changes — will be away to Manchester City, at home to West Brom, away to Bournemouth, at home to Arsenal, away to Brighton, and then the season will end with a home against Watford.

Of course, United could only manage miserable home draws against most of that lot last season. So let's not get carried away.

Some notable dates

Liverpool: away on October 14, at home on March 10

Manchester City: at home on December 9, away on April 7

Arsenal: away on December 2, at home on April 28

Chelsea: away on November 4, at home on February 24

Boxing day: at home to Burnley

New Year's Day: away to Everton

Full fixtures

Sat Aug 12 West Ham United H
Sat Aug 19 Swansea City A
Sat Aug 26 Leicester City H
Sat Sep 9 Stoke City A
Sat Sep 16 Everton H
Sat Sep 23 Southampton A
Sat Sep 30 Crystal Palace H
Sat Oct 14 Liverpool A
Sat Oct 21 Huddersfield Town A
Sat Oct 28 Tottenham Hotspur H
Sat Nov 4 Chelsea A
Sat Nov 18 Newcastle United H
Sat Nov 25 Brighton and Hove Albion H
Tue Nov 28 Watford A
Sat Dec 2 Arsenal A
Sat Dec 9 Manchester City H
Tue Dec 12 A.F.C. Bournemouth H
Sat Dec 16 West Bromwich Albion A
Sat Dec 23 Leicester City A
Tue Dec 26 Burnley H
Sat Dec 30 Southampton H
Mon Jan 1 Everton A
Sat Jan 13 Stoke City H
Sat Jan 20 Burnley A
Wed Jan 31 Tottenham Hotspur A
Sat Feb 3 Huddersfield Town H
Sat Feb 10 Newcastle United A
Sat Feb 24 Chelsea H
Sat Mar 3 Crystal Palace A
Sat Mar 10 Liverpool H
Sat Mar 17 West Ham United A
Sat Mar 31 Swansea City H
Sat Apr 7 Manchester City A
Sat Apr 14 West Bromwich Albion H
Sat Apr 21 A.F.C. Bournemouth A
Sat Apr 28 Arsenal H
Sat May 5 Brighton and Hove Albion A
Sun May 13 Watford H