clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester United duo named to PFA’s Premier League Team of the Year

More awards for Bruno

Manchester United v Everton - Premier League Photo by Ash Donelon/Manchester United via Getty Images

Bruno Fernandes and Luke Shaw have been named to PFA’s Premier League Team of the Year filling out a Manchester City dominated team.

Luke Shaw is included at left-back, after a breakout season in which he contributed a goal and five assists from 32 top-flight appearances. Bruno Fernandes slots in at midfield to top off his first year at United, scoring 18 goals and 12 assists.

United have now had 35 different players make the team in the Premier League era, with Gary Neville and Ryan Giggs selected on six different occasions each.

The pair are the third and fourth current Reds to have been selected in a Team of the Year while with the club, after David De Gea (2012/13, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18) and Paul Pogba (2018/19).

Juan Mata and Nemanja Matic were picked while with Chelsea, while Shaw has previously been recognised, but as a Southampton player.


GK: Ederson (Manchester City)

RB: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)

CB: John Stones (Manchester City)

CB: Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

LB: Luke Shaw (Manchester United)

MF: Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

MF: Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)

MF: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

FW: Harry Kane (Tottenham)

FW: Mo Salah (Liverpool)

FW: Heung-min Son (Tottenham)